Stockholm Syndrome

Wikipedia says “Stockholm syndrome is a psychological phenomenon in which hostages express empathy and sympathy and have positive feelings toward their captors, sometimes to the point of defending them. These feelings are generally considered irrational in light of the danger or risk endured by the victims”

Hello again! Firstly I need to make an apology and explanation for disappearing for 2 years. When I last blogged I was 18, being a bum and generally doing nothing. Deciding I couldn’t find a job in London, which I now realise is a ridiculous notion and I was being lazy, I moved home, started an apprenticeship and became a proper human being! I’m older, wiser, but just as fond of the traditional Northern sport ‘complaining’.

Eventually, after deciding i had fulfilled my duty to Mexican cooking and Darlington, I moved back to London, ‘the big smoke’ as it’s apparently affectionately named. I got a commis chef job in a traditional English pub ‘The Duke’ which is in Richmond and on Duke street. I used to work on a different Duke Street for 3 years about 20 miles from a different Richmond. England needs to be more original..

And now to explain my blog title, Before I was ‘Trapped in London’ and now I’ve trapped myself here by becoming far too attached to the underground, never being bored and foxes. So now I’m trapped in the kitchen, when I’m at work I’m in the kitchen and when I’m at home I’m usually in the kitchen.

cooking all day

It’s worrying at times, but mostly just tasty.

This time round in London I’m making the most of it, there is no such thing as boredom in London if you can be bothered to go out and see what’s there, and there’s a lot! The internet told me that there are more than 300 languages spoken in London, more than in any other city in the world, around 40% of London’s 173 square km is green and (my sister will like this) London has around 900 bookshops, that’s twice as many as New York!

I’m no longer Trapped in London due to having nothing else to do, I’m trapped here because there’s so much I want to do, I love being here. I love the tube, The Duke, the boyfriend and The City. Here’s to enjoying every bit of life even the bits where you’re skint from too much rent, sick of no-one speaking English or late for work in the rain because your train driver decided to strike.. Well I couldn’t be that jolly, I’m still Northern!

Leave a comment